Madlib and Four Tet Detail New Collaborative Album ‘Sound Ancestors’

    Madlib and Four Tet have revealed the details of their upcoming collaborative album Sound Ancestors. It’s set for release on January 29 via Madlib’s own Madlib Invazion label. The music is credited to Madlib, while Four Tet’s Kieran Hebden handled the editing, arranging, and mastering of the 16-track LP. Check out the album’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    “He is always making loads of music in all sorts of styles and I was listening to some of his new beats and studio sessions when I had the idea that it would be great to hear some of these ideas made into a Madlib album,” Hebden explained in a social media statement announcing the project. “Not made into beats for vocalists to use but instead arranged into tracks that could all flow together in an album designed to be listened to start to finish. I put this concept to him when we were hanging out eating some nice food one day and we decided to work on this together with him sending me tracks, loops, ideas and experiments that I would arrange, edit, manipulate and combine. I was sent hundreds of pieces of music over a couple of years stretch and during that time I put together this album with all the parts that fitted with my vision.”

    In December, Madlib and Four Tet shared the single ‘Road of the Lonely Ones’, which was followed by ‘Hopprock’ just last week.

    Sound Ancestors Cover Artwork:

    Sound Ancestors Tracklist:

    1. There Is No Time (Prelude)
    2. The Call
    3. Theme De Crabtree
    4. Road of the Lonely Ones
    5. Loose Goose
    6. Dirtknock
    7. Hopprock
    8. Riddim Chant
    9. Sound Ancestors
    10. One For Quartabê/Right Now
    11. Hang Out (Phone Off)
    12. Two for 2 -For Dilla
    13. Latino Negro
    14. The New Normal
    15. Chino
    16. Duumbiyay

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading