IAN SWEET Announces New Album ‘Show Me How You Disappear’, Unveils New Song ‘Drink the Lake’

    IAN SWEET, the indie rock project of Jilian Medford, has announced her third album: Show Me How You Disappear is out March 5 via Polyvinyl. She’s also shared a new single called ‘Drink the Lake’. Take a listen below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Most of the songs on Show Me How came about after Medford had completed a two-month intensive outpatient program in early 2020, and the album is a direct result of her reflections from that period of therapy. “This is the first record that I leave that space for myself,” Medford explained in a statement. “I feel a freedom on this one that I haven’t felt with the others. People always say ‘I put all of me into this,’ but I actually didn’t this time — I left space.”

    The new single “taps into my own twisted logic to try and break away from obsessive thought patterns,” according to Medford. “It turned into a pop anthem of seemingly silly ways to try and forget someone, like saying their name backwards, but I feel these devices contributed to my healing.”

    Show Me How marks the follow-up to 2018’s Crush Crusher. Previously, IAN SWEET released the singles ‘Sword’‘Dumb Driver’, and ‘Power’.

    Show Me How You Disappear Cover Artwork:

    Show Me How You Disappear Tracklist:

    1. My Favorite Cloud
    2. Drink the Lake
    3. Sword
    4. Dirt
    5. Sing Till I Cry
    6. Dumb Driver
    7. Get Better
    8. Power
    9. Show Me How You Disappear
    10. I See Everything

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading