Blake Mills and Pino Palladino Announce Collaborative Album, Share New Song ‘Just Wrong’

    Multi-instrumentalist and producer Blake Mills and bassist Pino Palladino have announced a new collaborative album titled Notes With Attachments. It arrives on March 12 via New Deal/Impulse! Check out the lead single ‘Just Wrong’ below, and scroll down for the LP’s tracklist.

    According to a press release, Notes With Attachments was recorded across a two-and-a-half-year period. It features guest appearances from D’Angelo drummer Chris Dave, saxophonists Sam Gendel, Marcus Strickland, and Jacques Schwartz-Bart, and keyboardist Larry Goldings.

    “With a song like this, built-in layers, at various points along the road you look around and go: what is this? Where is the composition? Sometimes you end up drawing the blueprints of the house after it’s fully been built,” Mills said of ‘Just Wrong’. “That process touches every song on the record, which typically began with Palladino’s own melodic and rhythmic language and developed outward with references shared by the two musicians from West African and Cuban music, funk, jazz, and English folk.”

    “It all evolved from me playing Blake a few ideas, getting a reaction from [him] and seeing if he’d be interested in working on [them],” Palladino added. “As the project evolved in the first few weeks and months—even though the music was mostly coming from my original ideas, some of which I’d had for quite a while—[because of] Blake’s response to the ideas, it dawned on both of us that it would be a collaborative record.”

    Blake Mills’ most recent album Mutable Set came out in May. Check out where it landed on our 50 Best Albums of 2020 list.

    Notes With Attachments Tracklist:

    1. Just Wrong
    2. Soundwalk
    3. Ekuté
    4. Notes With Attachments
    5. Djurkel
    6. Chris Dave
    7. Man From Molise
    8. Off the Cuff

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading