Sophie Morgan Releases New Song ‘Always’

    Liverpool-born songwriter Sophie Morgan has returned with a new song called ‘Always’. The track was co-written with London songwriter Archie Faulks and features Matt Ingram (Laura Marling) on drums and The Verve’s Simon Jones on bass. Check it out below, alongside an accompanying music video directed by Ollie Bradley Baker.

    “The song always felt like a waltz for the lonely, I saw myself slowly swaying empty armed around the living room,” Morgan explained in a statement. “I had that first line “leave the tv on” about watching dodgy daytime television shows like Homes Under the Hammer. It made me think of elderly people, maybe who have lost their significant other, spending most days dreaming of special nights dancing together, losing a little bit of sanity with each passing day alone.”

    “We created the set in a local theatre, the first place I ever sang in public when I was nine,” she added of the video. “We joked that we were trying to make a million-dollar video on a shoestring in the middle of a pandemic and I hadn’t even danced since school PE. But I’m really proud we somehow managed to bring my crazy idea to life.”

    ‘Always’ follows Sophie Morgan’s Marmalade EP, which came out last year.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading