Mia Joy Announces Debut Album ‘Spirit Tamer’, Unveils New Song

    Chicago singer-songwriter Mia Rocha has announced her debut album as Mia Joy. It’s titled Spirt Tamer and it comes out May 7 via Fire Talk. Rocha and her band, which features Joseph Farago on keys and Emerson Hunton on percussion, have also shared the new single ‘See Us’ along with a music video directed by Matt Gehl. Watch it below, and scroll down for the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    ‘See Us’ follows January’s ‘Haha’, the first single Mia Joy put out for Fire Talk. “‘See Us’ was the last song I wrote on the record, back in January of 2020,” Rocha wrote in a statement. “I had fallen in love again and felt like I could see a promising future with plenty of opportunities. Filled with optimism of love and expansion that we could better our lives. Ironically, the pandemic hit two months later, that relationship ended and now this is a very beautiful bittersweet reminder that this hope can still exist for us someday.”

    Spirit Tamer Cover Artwork:

    Spirit Tamer Tracklist:

    1. Spirit Tamer
    2. Ye Old Man
    3. Heaven Forbid
    4. Freak
    5. Across Water
    6. See Us
    7. Saturn
    8. Haha
    9. Sword (I Carry)
    10. Phone Home
    11. Candle Prayer
    12. Last Night Together (Arthur)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading