The Microphones Announce New Album of “100% Background Noise”

    Phil Elverum has announced a new vinyl-only release under the Microphones moniker. Described by Elverum as an album of “100% background noise” that “contains no music”, Foghorn Tape is released this Friday (March 5) and will be available on clear vinyl and limited to 999 copies, with no digital or streaming option. You can order a copy here.

    Writing on his P. W. Elverum & Sun website, the singer-songwriter explained that the recording is “literally just the noisy fuzzed out tape loop of a ‘fog horn’ (actually a distant pitch-bent bass) that plays through-out the background of ‘the Glow pt. 2’ and other Microphones musics. Ambient noise. Blank ocean.”

    Last year, Elverum released his first album as the Microphones in nearly two decades, The Microphones in 2020. An accompanying photo book, titled Microphones in 2020 Silent Versionwas published in December.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading