The Go! Team Announce New Album, Share New Song ‘World Remember Me Now’

    UK band The Go! Team have announced their sixth studio album, Get Up Sequences Part OneIt’s set for release on July 2 via Memphis Industries. The band have also shared a video for the new single ‘World Remember Me Now’. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Speaking about ‘World Remember Me Now’, which is performed by Go! Team lead vocalist Ninja and members of the Kansas City Girls Choir, the band’s Ian Parton said: “I’ve always been interested in people’s daily routines. It was written ages ago but has become strangely relevant to the world now. It’s easy to feel forgotten at the moment.”

    Get Up Sequences Part One was recorded around Parton’s diagnosis with Meniere’s disease. “I lost hearing in my right ear halfway during the making of this record,” he explained. “I woke up one Thursday in October 2019 and my hearing was different in some way—it fluctuated over a few weeks and at one point everything sounded like a Dalek. I seem to remember listening to music was bordering on unbearable. Over time it settled into just a tiny bit of hi end being audible on my right side. I thought the hearing loss was from playing music too loud over the years but it turns out I was just unlucky and it was a rare condition called Menieres. It was traumatic to keep listening to songs I knew well but which suddenly sounded different and it was an odd juxtaposition to listen to upbeat music when I was on such a downer. The trauma of losing my hearing gave the music a different dimension for me and it transformed the album into more of a life raft.”

    The Go! Team’s last album was Semicircle, released in 2018.

    Get Up Sequences Part One Cover Artwork:

    Get Up Sequences Part One Tracklist:

    1. Let the Seasons Work
    2. Cookie Scene
    3. A Memo for Maceo
    4. We Do It But Never Know Why
    5. Freedom Now
    6. Pow
    7. I Loved You Better
    8. A Bee Without Its Sting
    9. Tame the Great Plains
    10. World Remember Me Now

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading