Slowdive and Flaming Lips Members Form Beachy Head, Release Debut Single

    Beachy Head – a new project made up of Slowdive guitarist Christian Savill, Flaming Lips drummer Matt Duckworth, Ryan Graveface (Dreamend, The Casket Girls), and The Soft Cavalry‘s Steve Clarke – have announced their self-titled debut album. The LP, which also features guest vocals from Rachel Goswell (who is married to Clarke), arrives on April 30 via Graveface. Check out the new single and closing track ‘Destroy Us’ below.

    Beachy Head takes its name from a chalk cliff in Sussex, which the band notes is “one of Britain’s most popular beauty spots.” According to the album description on Bandcamp, Savill started writing and demoing the songs alone in 2019 before reaching out to others. From there, “Ryan and Christian put flesh on the bones in Savannah [Georgia] just before Covid struck. Matt Duckworth added drums. In between lockdowns back in the UK Steve added harmonies and other instrumentation. The final touch of recording was Rachel Goswell contributing vocals on a few songs.”

    Slowdive are currently working on their fifth album. The Flaming Lips released their most recent LP, American Head, in September 2020.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading