Iron & Wine Announce Unearthed Album, Share New Song ‘Calm on the Valley’

    Sam Beam has announced an unearthed Iron & Wine album. Archive Series Volume No.5: Tallahassee, which arrives May 7 via Sub Pop, was recorded in the late ’90s, dating back before his debut LP, The Creek Drank the Cradle. Check out ‘Calm on the Valley’ from the collection below.

    Beam recorded the album while he was a student at Florida State University’s College of Motion Picture Arts. Though he had mostly forgotten about the recordings, they were preserved by his former roommate and one-time Iron & Wine bandmate EJ Holowicki, who encouraged him to record the songs in the first place.

    “Early music file-sharers have long claimed ownership of a number of early Iron & Wine recordings, many that still have yet to be officially released,” a press release notes. “While this record will not quite correct all the wrongs of the early days of the internet, it will fill in many of the blanks for long-time fans.”

    Archive Series Volume No.5: Tallahassee Tracklist: 

    1. Why Hate the Winter
    2. This Solemn Day
    3. Loaning Me Secrets
    4. John’s Glass Eye
    5. Calm On the Valley
    6. Ex-Lover Lucy Jones
    7. Elizabeth
    8. Show Him the Ground
    9. Straight and Tall
    10. Cold Town
    11. Valentine

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading