Sylvan Esso, Ryley Walker, William Tyler, and More Contribute to New Phish Covers Album

    William Tyler, Ryley Walker, Sylvan Esso, Strand of Oaks, Amy Helm, Vetiver, Chris Forsyth, and more have contributed to a new Phish covers album called Cluster Flies. The project is a tribute to the band’s 2000 album Farmhouse and will include covers of each of its original 12 songs, plus bonus songs from the Japanese edition of LP and renditions of Phish songs written during that period but never recorded. The collection will benefit pandemic relief for the live music industry and arrives on April 30 via JamBase. Below, listen to Club d’Elf’s cover of ‘Sand’ and check out the full album tracklist.

    “In July of last year, as it became clear the COVID-19 pandemic would have a devastating impact on the live music industry,” JamBase CEO David Onigman said in a statement. “I tasked the team to come up with an idea that we could rally around in place of live music and to raise lost revenues for JamBase. Rather than a standard fundraiser, the Cluster Flies project was conceived, and we soon reached out to an incredible group of musicians who graciously jumped at the opportunity to support JamBase. What happened over the last nine months outperformed even my wildest of expectations. I’m elated with how the performances, the artwork, the packaging, the mastering and the podcasts we are going to be launching daily came together. It’s a collection of work I am extremely proud of and honored to share with the world.”

    Each track on the collection will premiere through a daily rollout on the JamBase website and will be accompanied by an episode of The JamBase Podcast featuring interviews with the participating artists. Cluster Flies is available for pre-order here.

    Cluster Flies Tracklist:

    1. William Tyler – ‘The Inlaw Josie Wales’

    2. Sylvan Esso – ‘Farmhouse’
    3. Jennifer Hartswick – ‘Dirt’
    4. Tim Palmieri – ‘Vultures’
    5. Daniel Donato – ‘Back on the Train’
    6. Reed Mathis – ‘Bye Bye Foot’
    7. Vetiver – ‘Driver’
    8. James Petralli – ‘Gotta Jibboo’
    9. Chris Forsyth – ‘Piper’
    10. Club d’Elf – ‘Sand’
    11. Lindsay Lou – ‘Mountains in the Mist’
    12. Sadler Vaden – ‘Heavy Things’
    13. Amy Helm: ‘Sleep’
    14. Neal Francis – ‘Dogs Stole Things’
    15. Brendan Bayliss – ‘Twist’
    16. Strand of Oaks – ‘Bug’
    17. Ryley Walker: ‘First Tube’

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading