The Black Keys Announce Blues Covers Album, Release ‘Crawling Kingsnake’

    The Black Keys have detailed a new covers album called Delta Kream, which arrives on May 14 via Nonesuch. The 11-track collection opens with the Ohio duo’s version of ‘Crawling Kingsnake’, a song popularized by John Lee Hooker and producer Bernard Besman. Take a listen below and check out the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    An homage to the Mississippi hill country blues artists that inspired them, Delta Kream was recorded at Dan Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville alongside Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton. “These songs are still as important to us today as they were the first day Pat and I started playing together and picked up our instruments,” Auerbach said in a statement. “It was a very inspiring session with Pat and me along with Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton in a circle, playing these songs. It felt so natural.”

    Patrick Carney added: “The session was planned only days in advance and nothing was rehearsed. We recorded the entire album in about ten hours, over two afternoons, at the end of the Let’s Rock tour.”

    Delta Kream Cover Artwork:

    Delta Kream Tracklist:

    1. Crawling Kingsnake
    2. Louise
    3. Poor Boy a Long Way From Home
    4. Stay All Night
    5. Going Down South
    6. Coal Black Mattie
    7. Do the Romp
    8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights
    9. Walk With Me
    10. Mellow Peaches
    11. Come On and Go With Me

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading