Wild Pink Cover Taylor Swift, Carly Rae Jepsen, Coldplay, and More on New EP

    Wild Pink have shared a new EP titled Six Cover Songs. The collection sees frontman John Ross and drummer Dan Keegan offering their take on songs by Taylor Swift (‘We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together’), Bruce Springsteen (‘When You’re Alone’), Carly Rae Jepsen (‘Favorite Color’), Shane MacGowan (‘Lonesome Highway’), and Coldplay (‘Reign of Love’), as well as the Jeopardy! theme song. Listen to it below.

    Ross said of the new project in a statement (via Pitchfork):

    We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” is by far my favorite Taylor Swift song though “Favorite Colour” is just one of a few personal favs from Carly Rae Jepsen. Her album E•MO•TION is full of incredible songs and choosing “Favorite Colour” was a tough choice. “Lonesome Highway” is one of my favorite Shane MacGowan songs of all time. It’s such a tender and sweet song and very impactful with his unique delivery. I love the music video for this song and need the Pittsburgh Penguins jersey he’s got on in it. He has the most heartbroken face I’ve ever seen at the end of the video where everyone is singing “I love you so”… just an incredible song that I had a blast playing. “Reign of Love” is one of my favorites from Coldplay. It was kind of a hidden song from Viva la Vida but probably the best tune from that album. “When You’re Alone” is definitely one of my favorite Bruce tunes from one of my favorite Bruce albums: Tunnel of Love.

    Earlier this year, Wild Pink issued their most recent album, A Billion Little Lights.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading