Twin Shadow Announces New Album, Unveils ‘Get Closer’

    George Lewis Jr. has announced his self-titled fifth album as Twin Shadow. It arrives on July 9 via his own Cheree Cheree label. He’s also previewed the record with a new single called ‘Get Closer’, which you can find below along with the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    “Oftentimes we Band-Aid the problems that spring up along the way with the words ‘I love you’ or ‘but, I love you’,” Lewis said of the new track in a statement. “The idea that there is maybe a state between people that could be wildly closer than what we traditionally know as ‘love’ is a very exciting and hopeful thing to me. ‘I’ve got so much to learn about you/I’ve got to study’ and ‘I know you’re crucified each day for living’ are lines that hopefully show a dedication to getting better and a will to understand the depths and the complexities of the other.”

    The self-titled LP follows Twin Shadow’s 2018 album Caer. Earlier this year, he released the singles ‘Alemania’ and ‘Johnny & Jonnie’.

    Twin Shadow Cover Artwork:

    Twin Shadow Tracklist:

    1. Alemania
    2. Sugarcane
    3. Johnny & Johnnie
    4. Get Closer
    5. Is There Any Love
    6. Gated Windows
    7. Modern Man
    8. Lonestar
    9. Brown Sugar
    10. I Wanna Be Here (Shotgun)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading