Anika Announces New Album ‘Change’, Releases Video for New Track

    Anika has announced a new album: Change comes out on July 23 via Invada Records/Sacred Bones. To accompany the announcement, the Berlin-based artist has also unveiled the record’s title track, which arrives with an accompanying video directed by Sven Gutjahr, who also helmed the video for previous single ‘Finger Pies’. Check it out below, along with the album’s cover art and tracklist. 

    “There’s a lot of stuff I want to change,” Anika said in a statement. “Some things I sat down and decided last year, I had to change about myself and my life. Sometimes it feels helpless because the things we want to change are so huge and out of our control. Starting with yourself is always a good place. I think we can change.”

    It’s been 11 years since the release of Anika’s last solo album, 2010’s self-titled LP. “This album had been planned for a little while and the circumstances of its inception were quite different to what had been expected,” she added. “This colored the album quite significantly. The lyrics were all written there on the spot. It’s a vomit of emotions, anxieties, empowerment, and of thoughts like—How can this go on? How can we go on?”

    Change Cover Artwork: 

    Change Tracklist: 

    1. Finger Pies
    2. Critical
    3. Change
    4. Naysayer
    5. Sand Witches
    6. Never Coming Back
    7. Rights
    8. Freedom
    9. Wait For Something

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading