Efterklang Announce New Album ‘Windflowers’, Share Video for Lead Single

    Efterklang – the Danish trio of Mads Brauer, Rasmus Stolberg, and Casper Clausen – have announced a new album called Wildflowers. Their first LP for City Slang arrives on October 8. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the lead single ‘Living Other Lives’, which is accompanied by a music video directed by Søren Lynggaard Andersen. Check it out below and scroll down for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Clausen had this to say about the new single in a press release:

    Living other lives started out as a jam in my Lisbon studio during Spring 2020 lockdown. I was playing around with my 404 sampler and I found that kind of groove that makes my head bop – put some samples on it, and I could listen to it forever – a good sign. So I was just having that on loop while scrolling through my instagram feed. The lyrics sort of came out of that moment; living other lives, imagination jumping from one life/image to another, revisiting, updating myself, absolutely bodiless, while scrolling up and up with my thumb. It’s a fascinating world we’re living in, so strangely symbiotic and aware of what everybody’s doing, I feel I’m living multiple lives all at once. Watching all these people expressing and changing themselves far away, out there around the planet.

    Andersen added of the video: “I visited Efterklang in the studio when they were in the process of recording their new album. I had packed this old russian 16mm camera and I wasn’t even sure if the camera actually worked, but thankfully it did (sort of). The video that came out of it I feel is a charming and genuine look at the band together in the studio and in the nature of the island of Møn in the south of Denmark.”

    Windflowers Cover Artwork:

    Windflowers Tracklist:

    1. Alien Arms
    2. Beautiful Eclipse
    3. Hold Me Close When You Can
    4. Lady Of The Rocks
    5. Dragonfly
    6. Living Other Lives
    7. Mindless Center
    8. House On A Feather
    9. Åbent Sår [feat. The Field)]
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading