Steve Gunn Announces New Album ‘Other You’, Releases New Single

    Brooklyn-based musician Steve Gunn has announced a new album titled Other YouThe follow-up to 2019’s The Unseen In Between is out August 27 via Matador. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the two-song single ‘Other You’ and ‘Reflection’. Take a listen below and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Other You was recorded with producer Rob Schnapf in Los Angeles and features contributions from Juliana Barwick, Mary Lattimore, Bridget St. John, Jeff Parker, and Bill MacKay. Elaborating on the title of the album, Gunn said in a press release: “I came up with this title when we were recording vocals and Rob was very into harmonies. There was a third part and I just couldn’t find the note. I couldn’t vocalize it. He went in and took my voice and put it into his computer program, then he could playback and “sing” the note with my voice using the computer. And he said, ‘Sing to the other you.’ So I was singing along to myself singing a note I couldn’t sing.”

    Other You Cover Artwork:

    Other You Tracklist: 

    1. Other You
    2. Fulton
    3. Morning River
    4. Good Wind
    5. Circuit Rider
    6. On The Way
    7. Protection
    8. The Painter
    9. Reflection
    10. Sugar Kiss
    11. Ever Feel That Way

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading