Barack Obama Shares 2021 Summer Playlist Featuring Migos, H.E.R., Arooj Aftab, and More

    Barack Obama has shared his annual “Summer Playlist”, featuring songs by the likes of MigosH.E.R.Silk Sonic, Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones, Arooj Aftab, and more. Spanning nearly 40 songs, the playlist is a mix of old classics (George Harrison’s ‘My Sweet Lord’, Rolling Stones’ ‘Tumbling Dice’, Dylan’s ‘I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight’) as well as new hip-hop and R&B (Migos’ ‘Straightenin’, H.E.R.’s Lil Baby collaboration ‘Find A Way’, and Silk Sonic’s Leave The Door Open’). Lesser-known artists who made the list include Nezi (‘So Hard’), Masked Wolf (‘Astronaut in the Ocean’), and Brother Sundance (‘Text You Back’). Stream the full playlist below.

    “With so many folks getting together with family and friends, there’s a lot to celebrate this summer,” Obama tweeted on Saturday. “Here’s a playlist of songs I’ve been listening to lately—it’s a mix of old and new, household names and emerging artists, and a whole lot in between.”

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading