Polaris Prize 2021 Short List Announced: The Weather Station, Mustafa, and More

    The Polaris Music Prize, an annual event celebrating the best Canadian album of the year, has unveiled its 2021 short list. 10 albums were selected from the 40-album long list that was revealed last month, including the Weather Station’s Ignorance, Cadence Weapon’s Parallel World, and Mustafa’s When Smoke Rises. Check out the full list below.

    The winning album, as detemined by an 11-member grand jury, will be announced on September 27. Last year’s Polaris Prize was won by Backxwash.

    Polaris Music Prize 2021 Short List:

    Leanne Betasamosake Simpson – Theory of Ice
    Cadence Weapon – Parallel World
    DijahSB – Head Above The Waters
    Dominique Fils-Aimé – Three Little Words
    Mustafa – When Smoke Rises
    The OBGMs – The Ends
    Klô Pelgag – Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs
    TOBi – Elements Vol. 1
    The Weather Station – Ignorance
    Zoon – Bleached Wavves

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading