David Crosby Announces ‘If I Could Only Remember My Name’ 50th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue

    David Crosby has announced a deluxe reissue of his solo debut If I Could Only Remember My Name. The double-disc 50th anniversary edition of the album, which is out October 15, will include more than a dozen previously unreleased demos and alternate takes. To accompany the announcement, Crosby has shared the previously unreleased demo ‘Riff 1’. Give it a listen and find the full tracklist for the reissue below.

    The collection also comes with liner notes penned by Steve Silberman, co-author of Skeleton Key: A Dictionary for Deadheads, who writes: “…the stories behind the creation of If I Could Only Remember My Name make clear that its uplifting and redemptive qualities were the result of a close-knit group of gifted players pulling one of their own back from the brink. The album’s edge was tempered in the fire of life-altering tragedy.”

    David Crosby released his most recent album, For Free, in July.

    If I Could Only Remember My Name: 50th Anniversary Reissue Tracklist:

    Disc 1 (original album)
    1. Music Is Love
    2. Cowboy Movie
    3. Tamalpais High (At About 3)
    4. Laughing
    5. What Are Their Names
    6. Traction In The Rain”-
    7. “-Song With No Words (Tree With No Leaves)
    8. Orleans
    9. I’d Swear There Was Somebody Here”
    10. Kids And Dogs (bonus track)

    Disc 2 (bonus tracks)
    1. Riff 1 (demo)
    2. Tamalpais High (At About 3) (demo)
    3. Kids And Dogs (demo)
    4. The Wall Song (demo)
    5. Games (demo)
    6. Laughing (demo)
    7. Song With No Words (Tree With No Leaves) (demo)
    8. Where Will I Be (demo)
    9. Cowboy Movie (alternate version)
    10. Bach Mode (pre-Critical Mass)
    11. Coast Road
    12. Dancer
    13. Fugu

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading