Chelsea Wolfe and Jess Gowrie Form New Band, Mrs. Piss, Share New Singles

    Singer-songwriter Chelsea Wolfe and Jess Gowrie have announced the formation of a new band called Mrs. Piss. The duo have also shared two new tracks, ‘Downer Surrounded by Uppers’ and ‘Knelt’, which you can listen to below. The singles are taken from the group’s upcoming debut LP titled Self-Surgery, due on May 29 via Sargent House.

    Wolfe and Gowrie started working on their collaborative project while touring in support of Wolfe’s 2017 album Hiss Spun. They recorded their debut album as Mrs. Piss at the Dock Studio in Sacramento, California and at Wolfe’s home studio the Canyon, with Wolfe on vocals and guitar and Gowrie on drums, guitar, bass, and programming.

    Wolfe, who released her latest solo LP Birth of Violence last year, said in a statement:

    Working on this project brought Jess and I so much closer as songwriters and production partners, after reuniting as friends and bandmates. It was freeing and fun to channel some wild energies that I don’t typically put into my own music. We tried not to overthink the songs as we were writing them, but at the same time we did consciously put a lot into crafting them into our own weird sonic vision. This project was a chance for us to do things our own way, on our own terms, and we plan to invite more womxn musicians along for future Mrs. Piss recordings.

    Gowrie added:

    To me, Mrs. Piss represents a musical chemistry cut short long ago that now gets a second chance. Creating with Chelsea has always been very liberating for me, and we both push each other to try new things: anything and everything. Both of us have grown so much as writers and musicians since our first band together (Red Host), and with the journeys we had to take separately to get there, we both have so much more to say; so much more pain and anger to express. That said, we also had a lot of fun doing it, not to mention how freeing it is to not give a f-k and to just create.

    Self-Surgery Tracklist:

    01. To Crawl Inside
    02. Downer Surrounded by Uppers
    03. Knelt
    04. Nobody Wants to Party With Us
    05. M.B.O.T.W.O.
    06. You Took Everything
    07. Self-Surgery
    08. Mrs. Piss



    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading