Thurston Moore Announces New Album, Shares First Single ‘Hashish’

    Thurston Moore has announced a new album called By the Fire, due on September 25 via his own Daydream Library Series label. The guitarist and former Sonic Youth co-leader also shared the first single, ‘Hashish’. Check it out below.

    The album was recorded with Sonic Youth band mate Steve Shelley on drums, My Bloody Valentine’s Deb Googe on bass and backing vocals, and James Sedwards on guitar, all of whom are part of the Thurston Moore Group. It also features contributions from Negativland’s Jon Leidecker (aka Wobbly) on electronics and Jem Doulton on drums.

    A press release describes the album as consisting of “love songs in a time where creativity is our dignity, our demonstration against the forces of oppression. By the Fire is a gathering, a party of peace — songs in the heat of the moment.” Moore called the first single “an ode to the narcotic of love in our shared responsibility to each other during isolation.”

    The video for ‘Hashish’ combines footage from the band’s recent tour in Europe, “as well as clips from home during COVID lockdown safe in space with respect to the sacred healing truth of nature.”

    Prior to the announcement of the album, Moore had been dropping previously unreleased songs via his Bandcamp. His last solo album under his own name was 2019’s Spirit Counsel.

    By the Fire Tracklist:
    01. Hashish
    02. Cantaloupe
    03. Breath
    04. Siren
    05. Calligraphy”
    06. Locomotives
    07. Dreamers Work
    08. They Believe In Love (When They Look At You)
    09. Venus

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading