Bright Eyes Detail First New Album in 9 Years, Release New Song ‘Mariana Trench’

    Following the release of several singles over the past few months, the recently reunited Bright Eyes have officially announced their first new album in nine years called Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was. The album is set for release on August 21 via Dead Oceans. Below, listen to a new single from the album, ‘Mariana Trench’, and check out the album’s tracklist and cover art.

    ‘Mariana Trench’ is the fourth single to be released from the album, following ‘Persona Non Grata’, ‘Forced Convalescence’, and ‘One and Done’. The album also includes contributions from Red Hot Chilli Peppers’ Flea on bass and Queens of the Stone Age’s Jon Theodore on drums.

    The new track is accompanied by video Art Camp, made up of 2,200 hand-illustrated ink paintings based on original 3D animation and archival footage. “The production of the video started at the beginning of quarantine and finished as people came back out of their homes and took to the streets together,” they said in a statement. “In 18 different bedrooms across the world, listening to Bright Eyes, keeping each other company, we got the chance to collaborate on a story about embracing and celebrating change.”

    Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was will be the band’s 10th album and first LP release since The People’s Key in 2011.

    Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was Tracklist:

    1. Pageturner’s Rag
    2. Dance and Sing
    3. Just Once in the World
    4. Mariana Trench
    5. One and Done
    6. Pan and Broom
    7. Stairwell Song
    8. Persona Non Grata
    9. Tilt-A-Whirl
    10. Hot Car in the Sun
    11. Forced Convalescence
    12. To Death’s Heart (In Three Parts)
    13. Calais to Dover
    14. Comet Song

    Bright Eyes Detail Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was First New Album in 9 Years

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading