Sigur Rós’ Jónsi Announces New Solo Album, Shares New Song

    Sigur Rós singer Jónsi has announced his first solo album in a decade. The LP, called Shiver, is set for release on October 2 via Krunk. Following the release of single ‘Exhale’, Jónsi has shared a new song titled ‘Swill’, as well as an accompanying video directed by Barnaby Roper and animated by Pandagunda. Below, listen to the track and check out the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “It’s basically about when you get too drunk and do something stupid,” the Sigur Rós frontman told Rolling Stone about the track. “And you make a fool of yourself.”

    Co-produced by A.G. Cook and Jónsi, the follow-up to his 2010 solo debut Go is set to feature appearances from Robyn and Cocteau Twins’ Liz Fraser. About working with PC Music’s A.G. Cook, Jónsi said: “We decided to work on one song together and see how it goes and it really worked. He stripped it down for me because when you’re doing everything yourself, you go a little bit crazy. He built the songs again from scratch.”

    Shiver Artwork:


    Shiver Tracklist: 

    1. Exhale
    2. Shiver
    3. Cannibal (with Liz Fraser)
    4. Wildeye
    5. Sumarið Sem Aldrei Kom
    6. Kórall
    7. Salt Licorice (with Robyn)
    8. Hold
    9. Swill
    10. Grenade
    11. Beautiful Boy

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading