Boris Detail New Album, Release Searing New Single ‘Loveless’

    Japanese experimental metal band Boris have announced a new album titled NO, to be self-released on July 3 via Bandcamp. They also shared a searing new track titled ‘Loveless’, which you can check out below, along with the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    The announcement came with a statement/ manifesto from Boris in response to the “closing” of international borders. “The anger and discontent we had no outlet for in our youth shone through in our music, helping us to channel negative energy channeled towards creative ends and leading us to new means of expression and artistry,” they explained. “We hope this latest album can be a mirror that gathers and reflects people’s negative energy at a different angle, one that is positive. That is the power and potential of the dark, extreme, and brutal noise music that we have experienced up to this point.”

    They added: “Today’s society is littered with words that may or may not be true, making it easy to want to just not listen to what anyone has to say. But, that’s all the more reason why we hope that you will at least open your ears to these songs sung in the language of another land. These shouts that have no proper meaning as words will help release the raw, unshaped emotions within you. This is ‘extreme healing music.”

    The album will also include a cover of the song ‘Fundamental Error’ by legendary Japanese hardcore punk band GUDON, as well as a guest appearance from guitarist Katsumi, formerly of the Japanese hardcore punk bands OUTO and CITY INDIAN and now a member of SOLMANIA.

    Pre-orders are available now via Bandcamp. Boris’ last album was 2019’s LφVE & EVφL, which was released through Jack White’s Third Man Records.

    NO Artwork:

    boris NO album art Boris Announce New Album NO, Share Blistering Loveless: Stream

    NO Tracklisting :

    1. Genesis
    2. Anti-Gone
    3. Non Blood Lore
    4. Temple of Hatred
    5. 鏡 -Zerkalo-
    6. HxCxHxC -Parforation Line-
    7. キキノウエ -Kiki no Ue-
    8. Lust
    9. Fundamental Error
    10. Loveless
    11. Interlude

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading