The Avalanches Share Two New Songs Featuring Jamie xx, Neneh Cherry, and More

    The Avalanches have shared two new songs: ‘Wherever You Go’ featuring Jamie xx, Neneh Cherry, and Australian artist CLYPSO, and ‘Reflecting Light’ featuring Sananda Maitreya and British folk artist Vashti Bunyan. Check them out below.

    Featuring Mick Jones of the Clash on drums, ‘Wherever You Go’ is built around a sample of  1977’s The Voyager Golden Record. “Why do we send music to the stars?” The Avalanches wrote in a statement. “Is it because we want our voices to live forever? How else should we become pure spirits, singing forever in the dark?”

    ‘Reflecting Light’, on the other hand, borrows a sample from Vashti Bunyan’s 1970 track ‘Glow Worms’. “What are these sounds that haunt our lives… floating in the static and the noise all around us, just beyond our grasp?” they said about the track. “Are they radio waves, hallucinations? Voices from the past?”

    The tracks serve as the latest preview of the electronic group’s upcoming album, which will be the follow-up to 2016’s Wildflower. Previously, the Avalanches shared the collaborative singles ‘Running Red Lights’ with Rivers Cuomo and Pink Siifu and ‘We Will Always Love You’ with Blood Orange.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading