Listen to a Previously Unreleased Ella Fitzgerald Live Recording

    A rare Ella Fitzgerald live album is getting its first ever release. Recorded at Berlin’s Sportpalast in 1962, The Lost Berlin Tapes comes out October 2 via Verve. Below, you can hear one of the recordings, ‘Mack the Knife’, alongside an animated video, and scroll down for the album’s tracklist and cover artwork.

    The concert took place just two years after Fitzgerald’s seminal release, Ella in Berlin: Mack the Knife, and sees the jazz singer performing alongside a trio consisting of pianist Paul Smith, bassist Wilfred Middlebrooks, and drummer Stan Levey. A recording of the concert was discovered unopened within the private collection of Norman Granz, Verve Records founder and Fitzgerald’s longtime manager, who regularly recorded her concerts.

    The Lost Berlin Tapes will be available to purchase on vinyl, CD, and digitally. Pre-orders are ongoing.

    The Lost Berlin Tapes Cover Artwork:

    The Lost Berlin Tapes Tracklist:
    1. Cheek To Cheek
    2. He’s My Kind Of Boy
    3. Cry Me A River
    4. I Won’t Dance
    5. Someone To Watch Over Me
    6. Jersey Bounce
    7. Angel Eyes
    8. Clap Hands, Here Come Charlie
    9. Taking A Chance On Love
    10. C’est Magnifique
    11. Good Morning Heartache
    12. Hallelujah, I Love Him So
    13. Hallelujah, I Love Him So (Reprise)
    14. Summertime
    15. Mr. Paganini
    16. Mack The Knife
    17. Wee Baby Blues

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading