William Basinski Announces New Album ‘Lamentations’, Shares New Track

    William Basinski has announced a new album called Lamentations. The experimental composer’s latest arrives November 14 via Temporary Residence. Accompanying the announcement, the artist has also shared the haunting, 7-minute ambient piece ‘O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow’. Listen to it below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Lamentations consists of recordings captured and constructed from tape loops and studies from Basinski’s archives – some dating as far back as 1979. The album marks the second LP of archival compositions Basinski has put out in 2020; previously, he released Hymns of Oblivion back in March. A few weeks ago, he released To Feel Embraced under the moniker Sparkle Division, his collaborative project with Preston Wendel.

    Lamentations Cover Artwork:

    Lamentations Tracklist:

    1. For Whom the Bell Tolls
    2. The Wheel of Fortune
    3. Paradise Lost
    4. Tear Vial
    5. O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow
    6. Passio
    7. Punch and Judy
    8. Silent Spring
    9. Transfiguration
    10. All These Too, I, I Love
    11. Please, This Shit Has Got to Stop
    12. Fin

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading