Devonté Hynes Details New Score for Luca Guadagnino’s ‘We Are Who We Are’

    Devonté Hynes has revealed the details of his score for HBO’s new coming-of-age series We Are Who We Are, directed by Luca Guadagnino. Titled We Are Who We Are (Original Series Score), the album will contain 12 original tracks from Hynes, in addition to compositions from Julius Eastman and John Adams. It’s set for release on October 2 via Milan Records. 

    That same day, Milan Records will be issuing We Are Who We Are (Original Series Soundtrack), which was curated by Luca Guadagnino along with music supervisor Robin Urdang. It includes three live Blood Orange tracks in addition to songs by Radiohead (‘House of Cards’), Prince (‘The Love We Make’), David Bowie (‘Absolute Beginners’), and more. Check out the tracklist and cover art for both LPs below.

    In an interview with Variety, Hynes talked about how he and the show’s creator bonded over “quite similar tastes in more contemporary classic music”, adding that the collaborative process was “really natural. There was no cue sheet or anything like that.”

    Though We Are Who Are marks Hynes’ first score for a TV series, he has previously composed the soundtrack for various feature-length films, including Melina Matsoukas’ 2019 film Queen & Slim.

    We Are Who We Are (Original Series Score) Cover Art:

    We Are Who We Are (Original Series Score) Tracklist:

    1. Devonté Hynes: The Long Ride II
    2. Devonté Hynes: Let Yourself Go I
    3. Devonté Hynes: Let Yourself Go II
    4. Devonté Hynes: The Last Day
    5. Devonté Hynes: Fraser’s Bedroom
    6. Devonté Hynes: He Just Left
    7. Devonté Hynes: Notte Transfigurata I
    8. Devonté Hynes: The Long Ride I
    9. Devonté Hynes: Good Job, Soldier
    10. Devonté Hynes: Body of Me
    11. Devonté Hynes: Amorous Love
    12. Devonté Hynes: Notte Transfigurata II
    13. Julius Eastman: Stay On It
    14. Julius Eastman: Gay Guerilla
    15. John Adams: Century Rolls: II. Manny’s Gym
    16. John Adams: Two Fanfares for Orchestra: Short Ride in a Fast Machine

    We Are Who We Are (Original Series Soundtrack) Cover Art:

    We Are Who We Are (Original Series Soundtrack) Tracklist:

    1. Prince: The Love We Make
    2. Giorgio Moroder / Philip Oakey: Why Must the Show Go On
    3. Anna Oxa: A Lei
    4. John Adams: Three Weeks and I’m Still Outta My Mind
    5. Klaus Nomi: Keys of Life
    6. Klaus Nomi: Lightning Strikes
    7. Arto Lindsay: Child Prodigy
    8. Blood Orange: Time Will Tell
    9. CCCP Fedeli Alla Linea: Emilia Paranoica
    10. Francesca Scorsese: Soldier of Love (Sade cover)
    11. Aaron Carter: American A O
    12. Radiohead: House of Cards
    13. David Bowie: Absolute Beginners
    14. Kip Hanrahan: Child Song
    15. Blood Orange: Better Than Me (Live at Club Locomotiv)
    16. Blood Orange: But You (Live at Club Locomotiv)
    17. Blood Orange: Time Will Tell (Live at Club Locomotiv)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading