The War on Drugs Announce New Live Album ‘LIVE DRUGS’

    The War on Drugs have announced a new live album titled LIVE DRUGS. It’s out November 20 via frontman Adam Granduciel’s label Super High Quality Records. The collection features a series of sets from 40 of Granduciel’s hard drives, according to a press release. Below, check out a new live version of ‘Pain’, along with the album’s tracklist.

    “​As a bandleader, I always want to know where a song can go,”​ Granduciel said in a statement. “Even though we’ve recorded it, mastered it, put it out, and been touring on it, it doesn’t mean that we just have to do it the same way forever…. ​It feels like it’s kind of a reset, to be able to put something out that’s a really good interpretation of the way we interpret our music live. Even though this recording is from a year of tours, this is really how these six guys evolved as a band from 2014 to 2019.​”

    LIVE DRUGS was co-produced by Granduciel’s longtime friend Dominic East. Jonathan Low handled the mixing at Long Pond Studio, which is owned by The National’s own Aaron Dessner.

    The War on Drugs recently collaborated with the Rolling Stones for a remix of ‘Scarlet’. The band’s most recent album was 2017’s A Deeper Understanding.

    LIVE DRUGS Tracklist:
    1. An Ocean Between The Waves (Live)
    2. Pain (Live)
    3. Strangest Thing (Live)
    4. Red Eyes (Live)
    5. Thinking Of A Place (Live)
    6. Buenos Aires Beach (Live)
    7. Accidentally Like a Martyr (Live)
    8. Eyes to the Wind (Live)
    9. Under the Pressure (Live)
    10. In Reverse (Live) Lorem Ipsum

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading