Clap Your Hands Say Yeah Announce Album, Unveil New Songs

    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah have announced a new album called New Fragility. It arrives January 29, 2021 (via CYHSY/Secretly Distribution). The group have also previewed the album with two new singles: ‘Hesitating Nation’ and ‘Thousand Oaks’. Check them out below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    The title of New Fragility is taken from the David Foster Wallace short story ‘Forever Overhead’, which is featured in the collection Brief Interviews With Hideous Men. Frontman  Alec Ounsworth produced the 10-track LP, with additional production from Will Johnson. The record was recorded by Britton Beisenherz in Austin, Texas, mixed by John Agnello, and mastered by Greg Calbi.

    “These songs are politically motivated, which is unusual for me,” Ounsworth said of the new songs in a press release. “The only other song I’ve written about the failed democracy that is the United States is ‘Upon This Tidal Wave of Young Blood.’”

    Of ‘Hesitating Nation’ in particular, he added: “This is a song meant to convey my sense of disappointment and alienation with the rewarded mentality of getting ahead at all costs, inevitably to the detriment of those who didn’t sign up to be part of the experiment.” Of ‘Thousand Oaks’, he continued, “In 2018, there was a shooting in Thousand Oaks, California, which killed 13 people. This song has to do with the impotence of the American government in the face of such tragedies.”

    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah’s last studio album, The Tourist, came out in 2017.

    New Fragility Cover Artwork:

    New Fragility Tracklist:

    1. Hesitating Nation
    2. Thousand Oaks
    3. Dee, Forgiven
    4. New Fragility
    5. Innocent Weight
    6. Mirror Song
    7. CYHSY, 2005
    8. Where They Perform Miracles
    9. Went Looking for Trouble
    10. If I Were More Like Jesus

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading