Sturgill Simpson Announces First Bluegrass Album ‘Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1′

    Sturgill Simpson is releasing his first solo bluegrass album, called Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions, this Friday, October 16. The country singer’s follow-up to 2019’s Sound and Fury was supposed to be a surprise release before fans noticed Cuttin’ Grass’ early listing on an online streaming site. As Rolling Stone notes, the LP includes 20 songs from throughout his catalog performed with bluegrass musicians. Check out the album’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    “Welp,..was hoping to surprise everybody on Thursday but somebody somewhere (Germany) got all excited and just couldn’t hold their horses,” Simpson wrote in an Instagram post showing the album’s cover art, which is a photo of him riding a lawn mower. “And yes,..this is actually the album cover.”

    The project was recorded at Nashville’s Butcher Shoppe studio and produced by David Ferguson. Though Simpson teased Cuttin’ Grass’ 2-LP release on green and yellow vinyl, no pre-order has been posted yet.

    Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1: The Butcher Shoppe Sessions Tracklist:

    1. All Around You
    2. All the Pretty Colors
    3. Breakers Roar
    4. I Don’t Mind
    5. I Wonder
    6. Just Let Go
    7. Life Ain’t Fair
    8. A Little Light
    9. Life of Sin
    10. Long White Line
    11. Living the Dream
    12. Old King Coal
    13. Railroad of Sin
    14. Sitting Here Without You
    15. Sometimes Wine
    16. The Storm
    17. Time After All
    18. Turtles All the Way Down
    19. Voices
    20. Water in a Well

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading