shame Announce New Album ‘Drunk Tank Pink’, Unveil New Song ‘Water in the Well’

    UK rock outfit shame have announced their sophomore album, Drunk Tank Pink. The follow-up to their 2018 debut Songs of Praise arrives January 15 via Dead Oceans. It includes their previously released single ‘Alphabet’, as well as the newly unveiled track ‘Water in the Well’. It’s accompanied by a new music video directed by Pedro Takahashi- check it out below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    The album was produced by James Ford, and in a statement, frontman Charlie Steen revealed that it was partially informed by the impact the coronavirus lockdown had on the band. “You become very aware of yourself and when all of the music stops, you’re left with the silence,” he said. “And that silence is a lot of what this record is about. And that silence is a lot of what this record is about. The common theme when I was catching up with my mates was this identity crisis everyone was having. No one knows what the fuck is going on.”

    Guitarist Sean Coyle-Smith added: “It didn’t matter that we’d just come back off tour thinking, ‘How do we deal with reality? I had mates that were working in a pub and they were also like, ‘How do I deal with reality?’ Everyone was going through it. For this album I was so bored of playing guitar. The thought of even playing it was mind-numbing. So I started to write and experiment in all these alternative tunings and not write or play in a conventional ‘rock’ way.” 

    Drunk Tank Pink Cover Artwork:

    Drunk Tank Pink Tracklist:

    1. Alphabet
    2. Nigel Hitter
    3. Born in Luton
    4. March Day
    5. Water in the Well
    6. Snow Day
    7. Human, For a Minute
    8. Great Dog
    9. 6/1
    10. Harsh Degrees
    11. Station Wagon

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading