The Weather Station Announces New Album ‘Ignorance’, Releases New Song ‘Tried to Tell You’

    Tamara Lindeman has announced her fifth studio album as the Weather Station. It’s called  Ignorance and it’s set for release on February 5, 2021 via Fat Possum. She’s also previewed the LP with a new single, ‘Tried to Tell You’. Check it out below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    In a statement, Lindeman said ‘Tried to Tell You’ is about “reaching out to someone; a specific person, or maybe every person, who is tamping down their wildest and most passionate self in service of some self (and world?) destructive order.”

    Of the video, she added: “The video portrays a person who is beset by miracles and visions of beauty, which emanate from inside of and all around him, but rather than reacting with awe or joy, he reacts with annoyance, indifference, and mistrust​. ​We are taught not to see the natural world that we still live in, preferring instead to dwell on the artificial, which is so often a poor substitute for the vibrant real. Flowers really do rise up from mud, and many of us are full of treasures and beauty, but we often discount these things or throw them away.​”

    Tamara Lindeman recorded Ignorance alongside drummer Kieran Adams (DIANA), bassist Ben Whiteley, percussionist Philippe Melanson (Bernice), saxophonist Brodie West (The Ex), flutist Ryan Driver (Eric Chenaux), keyboardist Johnny Spence (Tegan and Sara), and guitarist Christine Bougie (Bahamas). In addition to playing piano and guitar on the record, she also co-produced it with Marcus Paquin, who also handled the mixing.

    Ignorance follows the Weather Station’s 2017 self-titled LP and includes the previously released single ‘Robber’. On Thursday, February 11, 2021, Lindeman will be performing the album with a full band – tickets are available now at NoonChorus.

    Ignorance Cover Artwork:

    Ignorance Tracklist:

    1. Robber
    2. Atlantic
    3. Tried to Tell You
    4. Parking Lot
    5. Loss
    6. Separated
    7. Wear
    8. Trust
    9. Heart
    10. Subdivisions

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading