Broken Social Scene’s Kevin Drew Announces Instrumental Album, Unveils New Song

    Broken Social Scene’s Kevin Drew has announced a new instrumental album called Influences, sharing the new single ‘The Slinfold Loop’, too. The album will be released under the moniker K.D.A.P. (Kevin Drew a Picture) on July 16 via Arts and Crafts. Check out the new song below and scroll down for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “We live in a society that’s based on selling yourself back to yourself,” Drew said of ‘The Slinfold Loop’ in a statement. “It’s created an underground battle to constantly be searching for “true identity.” We wanted to create a video presentation that promotes exploring over searching and brings the mystical slide-show of never ending opinion to the forefront of this battle. We used available footage from the World Wide Web from other artists and cut together a blender of images to tell a love story about continuing to move forward amongst the never ending information of how one is supposed to live.”

    Influences, the follow-up to 2014’s Darlings, was created during the pandemic using the smartphone beat-making app Endlesss. Drew wrote the album during walks through the woods of Slinford and London’s Islington district.

    Influences Cover Artwork:

    Influences Tracklist:

    1. The Slinfold Loop
    2. Hopefully Something
    3. Dooms Dive
    4. Shadow Rescues
    5. You and Me and Them
    6. Wilner’s Parade
    7. Explosive Lip Balm
    8. Almost Victory (Keep End Going)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading