Self Esteem Announces New Album ‘Prioritise Pleasure’, Unveils Title Track

    Self Esteem – aka Rebecca Taylor – has announced her second album, Prioritise Pleasure. The follow-up to her 2019 debut Compliments Please will be released on October 22 via Fiction Records. Today, Self Esteem has shared the album’s title track, alongside a self-directed video. Check it out below and scroll down for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “The song is a wide screen mantra, remembering to put myself first and in turn making myself a better, more present person,” Taylor explained in a press release. “My journey to accept myself is far from over, but over the last few years some of the age old simple shit has started to finally kick in. Love yourself, be in the moment, put your needs first – that all used to feel so abstract and impossible but with a bit of will power (and writing a tonne of songs about it), I finally not only see the benefits but am actively enjoying them.”

    Taylor added: “The video is of course a homage to Madonna’s blonde ambition tour and also a testament to how hard work pays off. Me and the girls in the band did lots of zoom rehearsals and us nailing this choreo was a really triumphant moment for us, and choreographer Stuart Rogers who never doubts we’ll get there.”

    Taylor describes Prioritise Pleasure as “13 songs of cleansing myself of the guilt and fear of being a woman who is ‘too much’ and replacing that very notion with a celebration of myself, of you, of being a human and the way that isn’t always easy or perfect, and that’s ok. Sorry to my parents for the lyric “shave my pussy, that’s just for me” but i think it’s maybe my finest hour!”

    Prioritise Pleasure Cover Artwork:

    Prioritise Pleasure Tracklist:

    1. I’m Fine
    2. Fucking Wizardry
    3. Hobbies 2
    4. Prioritise Pleasure
    5. I Do This All The Time
    6. Moody
    7. Still Reigning
    8. How Can I Help You
    9. It’s Been A While
    10. The 345
    11. John Elton
    12. You Forever
    13. Just Kids

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading