Shannon Lay Announces New Album ‘Geist’, Shares New Tracks

    Shannon Lay has announced her next LP: Geist will be released on 8 October via Sub Pop. Today’s announcement comes with the release of two new singles, ‘Awaken and Allow’ and ‘Geist’, alongside an accompanying video directed by Kai MacKnight. Check it out below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “‘Awaken and Allow’ is a prayer and a promise. A quiet moment to reflect on transformation and what it means to me,” Lay explained in a press release. “California represents my comfort zone and in this song I am urging myself and everyone listening to move out of their comfort zone in order to push ourselves to grow and evolve.”

    Of the title track, she added: “‘Geist’ is a testament to the power we all have within. We are so much more amazing than we know ourselves to be. With this video I really wanted to acknowledge some of the incredible people who make shows possible. We filmed at Zebulon in Los Angeles; a venue that has brought so much to the community here and I am so happy they have survived this uncertain time. There is so much going on behind the scenes to create the amazing memories we all have of live music and every part of that took a hit with the pandemic. With all we have been through it has been awe inspiring to see the strength of the human spirit.”

    Lay recorded vocals and guitar for the new album at Jarvis Tavinere of Woods’ studio, before sending the songs to multi-instrumentalists Ben Boye (Bonnie Prince Billy, Ty Segall) in Los Angeles and Devin Hoff (Sharon Van Etten, Cibo Matto) in New York. Sofia Arreguin (Wand) and Aaron Otheim (Heatwarmer, Mega Bog) contributed additional keys, while Ty Segall plays a guitar solo on ‘Shores’.

    Geist Cover Artwork: 

    Geist Tracklist: 

    1. Rare to Wake
    2. A Thread to Find
    3. Sure
    4. Shores
    5. Awaken and Allow
    6. Geist
    7. Untitled
    8. Late Night
    9. Times Arrow
    10. July

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading