Superchunk’s Mac McCaughan Announces New Album ‘The Sound of Yourself’, Enlists Yo La Tengo and Jon Wurster for New Song

    Superchunk’s Mac McCaughan has announced his second solo album: The Sound of Yourself arrives September 24 via Merge. The new single ‘Dawn Bends’, which McCaughan describes as “a cautionary tale about getting a little too into the isolation,” is out today, and it features Yo La Tengo and Superchunk drummer Jon Wurster. Give it a listen below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    The Sound of Yourself also features contributions from TORRES, Mountain Goats’ Matt Douglas, and A Giant Dog’s Sabrina Ellis. Talking about the process behind the album, McCaughan said in a statement: “Each day is blurring into the next, so what are we doing today? How can I disrupt this? I think what resulted was a theme of subdued… ‘joy’ is the wrong word, but it’s at least comforting if not propulsive to have something open-ended to work on every day without any kind of structure or deadline or rules.”

    The Sound of Yourself Cover Artwork:

    The Sound of Yourself Tracklist:

    1. Moss Light
    2. The Sound of Yourself
    3. I Hear a Radio
    4. 36 and Rain
    5. Burn a Fax
    6. Gen Ash
    7. Circling Around
    8. R Dream
    9. Sleep Donor
    10. Dawn Bends
    11. Found Cricket

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading