ABBA Announce First Album in 40 Years, Release New Songs

    ABBA are back. The Swedish pop icons have today announced their first new album since 1981, Voyage, which arrives on November 5 via Capitol. Along with the announcement, ABBA have also shared two new songs, ‘I Still Have Faith in You’ and ‘Don’t Shut Me Down’. Check them out below, and find the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist further down.

    In addition to the album, ABBA have also announced a new concert that will see digital versions of the group’s original members (previewed in the music video for ‘I Still Have Faith in You’) performing with a live 10-piece band. ABBA Voyage will open May 27, 2022 at the ABBA Arena, a 3,000 capacity arena located at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in London.

    “We simply call it Voyage and we’re truly sailing in uncharted waters,” Benny Anderson stated in a press release. “With the help of our younger selves, we travel into the future. It’s not easy to explain but then it hasn’t been done before. It’s hard to say what’s been the most joyful thing for me with this project. If it’s the involvement in creating the concert together with everyone or being back in the studio together again after 40 years. I think hearing Frida and Agnetha singing again is hard to beat. When you come to the arena you will have the four of us together with an absolutely glorious 10-piece band. And even if not in the flesh, we will be right there, thanks to the work of the creative team and ILM.”

    Anni-Frid Lyngstad added: “Those first sessions back in 2018 were such fun and when Benny called and asked if I’d consider singing some more I jumped at it! And what songs!! My respect and love go out to these exceptionally talented, truly genius songwriters! Such joy it was to work with the group again. I am so happy with what we have made, and I dearly hope our fans feel the same.”

    “When we got back together in the studio I had no idea what to expect…” Agnetha Fältskog explained. “But Benny’s recording studio is such a friendly and safe environment, and before I knew it I was really enjoying myself! I can hardly believe that finally, the moment has come to share this with the world!”

    Björn Kristian Ulvaeus commented: “They’re such amazing singers those two, I was completely floored by the way they delivered those songs. They’re true musicians; totally unimpressed by pop star glamour but still having a great time being creative in a recording studio. The ‘Voyage’ project has injected new life into us in more ways than one. So, again, thanks for waiting! We hope to see you in the ‘ABBA Arena’ and yes – see – because we have infused a good deal of our souls into those avatars. It’s not an exaggeration to say that we’re back.”

    Voyage Cover Artwork: 

    Voyage Tracklist: 

    1. I Still Have Faith in You
    2. When You Danced With Me
    3. Little Things
    4. Don’t Shut Me Down
    5. Just a Notion
    6. I Can Be That Woman
    7. Keep an Eye on Dan
    8. Bumblebee
    9. No Doubt About It
    10. Ode to Freedom

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading