Crake Release New Single ‘Lamb’s Tail’

    Crake – the Leeds quartet comprised of Rowan Sandle, Russel Searle, Rob Slater, and Sarah Statham – have shared a new single called ‘Lamb’s Tail’, their first for Fika Recordings. It follows a one-off 7” with Saddle Creek, which the band released on the back of supporting Big Thief across the UK and the EU in 2019. Check out a video for ‘Lamb’s Tail’, directed by Ash Scott, below.

    “When I was a kid and I was worried or anxious, I would leave it to the fates to tell me the outcome of whatever issue I was currently stuck on,” Sadle explained in a statement. “I would ask my question to the ether and make up some rule to reveal to me my answer. For example, if whilst walking I land at a lamppost with my left foot, the answer is no, but if I land with my right, then yes.”

    Sadle continued: “’Lamb’s Tail’ deals with a major question pertinent to me now – in my early 30s, without children but knowing I want them, I worry when. And at the opposite end of life’s flight, I’ve recently got to know grief. And it’s a lot. So sometimes we revert to silly rituals that comforted us as a child, noticing the pushing onwards of Spring, or laughing at the fact that Rob once met a cat he could have sworn he taught drums to.”

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading