Alice Glass Details Debut Album, Releases New Song ‘Baby Teeth’

    Alice Glass has announced the details of her debut solo full-length, PREY///IV, which will be released on January 28 via her own Eating Glass Records. The LP includes the new single ‘Baby Teeth’, which is accompanied by a video created by Lucas David and Astra Zero. Watch and listen below.

    Glass shared the following statement on the new track:

    I like to make songs that you can dance to when you’re sad. “Baby Teeth” is probably the darkest and most hopeless track on my record, but it sounds misleadingly hopeful.

    “Baby Teeth” is about embracing despair. It understands that violence against the vulnerable is inevitable, and it probably always will be. There will always be people that prey on others for their own gain, sometimes ruining lives for the most fleeting selfish pleasures. This is human nature, and it hurts too much to think about. And sometimes, the only power it feels like we have left is to say, “Hey, you can’t hurt me, because I’m hurting myself first. I’ve beat you to it.”

    It’s bleak, but this is a reality many of us struggle with. It isn’t fair. It never will be.

    PREY///IV marks Glass’ first solo album since leaving her former band Crystal Castles in 2014. The record will follow her 2017 Alice Glass EP and features the early tracks ‘I Trusted You’ and ‘SUFFER AND SWALLOW’.

    PREY///IV Cover Artwork:

    PREY///IV Tracklist:

    1. Prey
    2. Pinned Beneath Limbs
    3. Love Is Violence
    4. Baby Teeth
    5. Everybody Else
    6. The Hunted
    7. Fair Game
    8. Witch Hunt
    9. Suffer and Swallow
    10. Suffer in Peace
    11. Animosity
    12. I Trusted You
    13. Sorrow Ends

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading