Earl Sweatshirt Announces New Album ‘SICK!’, Teams Up With Armand Hammer for New Single

    Earl Sweatshirt has announced a new 10-track project titled SICK!, which is due out January 14 via Tan Cressida/Warner Records. Along with the announcement, he’s also shared a new song, ‘Tabula Rasa’, featuring Armand Hammer. Check out a music video for the track and find the record’s cover art below.

    SICK! will be the follow-up to Earl Sweatshirt’s 2019 record FEET OF CLAY. “SICK! is my humble offering of 10 songs recorded in the wake of the worldwide coronavirus pandemic and its subsequent lockdowns,” the rapper said in a statement. “Before the virus I had been working on an album I named after a book I used to read with my mother (‘The People Could Fly’). Once the lockdowns hit, people couldn’t fly anymore. A wise man said art imitates life.”

    He continued: “People were sick. The People were angry and isolated and restless. I leaned into the chaos cause it was apparent that it wasn’t going anywhere. these songs are what happened when I would come up for air. Peace and love to Zelooperz the enigma, The Armand Hammer, and my good friends Alchemist and Black Noi$e. Peace and love to u.”

    Last month, Earl Sweatshirt released the Black Noi$e-produced solo track ‘2010’, which landed on our Best New Songs segment.

    SICK! Cover Artwork:

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading