Widowspeak Announce New Album ‘The Jacket’, Share New Single

    Widowspeak have announced their sixth studio album. The follow-up to 2020’s Plum is called The Jacket and it comes out March 11 via Captured Tracks. The duo of singer-songwriter Molly Hamilton and guitarist Robert Earl Thomas have today previewed the LP with the lead single ‘Everything Is Simple’, which arrives with an accompanying video by OTIUM. Check it out below and scroll down for the album cover and tracklist.

    Widowspeak said of the new track in a statement:

    At the beginning of something (a relationship, a project, a job, a new place) you have this very pure feeling toward it. Everything feels less complicated because you’re oriented wholly toward that potential. It’s undefined, and that makes it easier to understand, because you can’t see the problems yet. As time goes on, you learn more, you experience more, and you see where the limitations exist: not even necessarily ones imposed upon you, but where you draw your own lines. Maybe you can’t see what was holding you back until it’s in the past, and by then others’ perspectives contradict your own. Everyone is constructing their own versions of reality. The song was originally going to feed into the drama of the imaginary band, but it’s about our own band too. I was thinking about how I’m an inherently unreliable narrator about my own life, and at the same time maybe there are no “true” stories.

    According to OTIUM, the concept of the music video is “centered around the idea of trying, knowing that even if things turn out differently than you intend, the very act itself is what you are striving to achieve.”

    The Jacket Cover Artwork:

    The Jacket Tracklist:

    1. While You Wait
    2. Everything Is Simple
    3. Salt
    4. True Blue
    5. The Jacket
    6. Unwind
    7. The Drive
    8. Slow Dance
    9. Forget It
    10. Sleeper

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading