Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood’s the Smile Share Debut Single

    The Smile, the new trio comprised of Radiohead members Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner, have shared their debut single. It’s called ‘You Will Never Work in Television Again’, and it was produced by Nigel Godrich. Check it out below.

    The Smile are set to perform three consecutive live shows at Magazine London on January 29 and January 30 to a seated audience in the round. The shows will be broadcast in real time via livestream for online ticketholders. “The performances bring together a live show, a livestream and a cinematic film, captured by award-winning director Paul Dugdale (The Rolling Stones, Adele, Paul McCartney) and produced by Driift,” a press release notes. Physical and livestream tickets will go on general sale from 9am on January 7. The performances will take place the following times:

    BROADCAST #1: London – 8pm Sat. / New York – 3pm Sat. / Los Angeles – 12pm Sat. / Sydney – 7am Sun. / Tokyo – 5am Sun.

    BROADCAST #2: London – 1am Sun. / New York – 8pm Sat. / Los Angeles – 5pm Sat. / Sydney – 12pm Sun. / Tokyo – 10am Sun.

    BROADCAST #3: London – 11am Sun. / New York – 6am Sun. / Los Angeles – 3am Sun. / Sydney – 10pm Sun. / Tokyo – 8pm Sun.

    The Smile made their first public performance on Glastonbury Festival’s Live at Worthy Farm livestream, which they followed with a surprise performance on Instagram in December. More recently, Yorke delivered a solo rendition of the track ‘Free the Knowledge’ at an event in London.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading