Sondre Lerche Announces New Double Album, Shares New Songs

    Sondre Lerche has announced a new double album: Avatars Of Love arrives on April 1. It features guest appearances from CHAI, Felicia Douglass of Dirty Projectors, Mary Lattimore, Rodrigo Alarcon, Ana Müller, and another special guest “to be announced at a later date.” Listen to the new songs ‘Cut’ and ‘Turns Out I’m Sentimental After All’ below, and scroll down for the album’s full tracklist and cover artwork (created in collaboration with Norwegian artist Nikolai Torgersen).

    “I originally wrote ‘Cut’ imagining a love affair between actors on a film set, where the lines are constantly blurred between what is real, what’s performative,” Lerche explained in a press release. “I saw it as a film noir, but during the recording it no longer felt black and white, it felt colorful and erotic and it reminded me of some of Brian DePalma’s 80s neo-noir films that I love. The music video also captures some of this.”

    He continued:

    ‘Turns Out I’m Sentimental After All’ was the last song I wrote before leaving LA right as the pandemic started. I like the contrast between it and ‘Cut,’ which it follows on the album. ‘Cut’ tries to capture an ephemeral feeling that may not even be real, while ‘Sentimental’ can’t help but fall back into nostalgia, while second guessing a central life choice. I remember thinking of ‘Both Sides Now,’ and how Joni wrote that so young, and how she probably could add many new verses and perspectives to it later in life, if need be. And I thought about some of my own songs where I made statements that no longer correspond with the way I see the world or myself. So it’s also an ode to songs and the many truths and phases they document and contain. It’s a very special and tender song to me.

    While Lerche’s last album, 2020’s Patience, took more than seven years to write and record, Avatars of Love was completed in his home country of Norway over the course of a year. “This is without a doubt the biggest, boldest, most complex thing I’ve ever done,” Lerche said. “At the same time, it was also the easiest, most natural, and most liberating. As an artist, it’s the kind of project you always dream about.”

    A few weeks ago, Lerche shared a cover of Doja Cat’s ‘Kiss Me More’.

    Avatars of Love Cover Artwork:

    Avatars of Love Tracklist:

    1. Guarantee That I’d Be Loved
    2. Dead of the Night
    3. Will We Ever Comprehend [feat. Rodrigo Alarcon, Ana Müller]
    4. Cut
    5. Turns Out I’m Sentimental After All
    6. What Makes Me Tick
    7. My Love Still Waits
    8. Avatars of Love
    9. Summer In Reverse [feat. CHAI]
    10. Now She Sleeps Beside Me
    11. Special Needs [feat. Felicia Douglass]
    12. The Other Side of Ecstasy
    13. Magnitude of Love [feat. Mary Lattimore]
    14. Alone in the Night

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading