Methyl Ethel Announces New Album, Collaborates With Stella Donnelly on New Song

    Methyl Ethel has announced a new album, Are You Haunted?, which is set for release on February 18 via Future Classic. Along with the announcement, the Australian artist – real name Jake Webb – has shared a new collaboration with Stella Donnelly called ‘Proof’. The track comes with an accompanying video directed by Webb. Check it out below.

    “Stella is one of the most truth-telling artists I’ve ever heard,” Webb commented in a statement. Donnelly added, “It made for a perfect match. Working on ‘Proof’ with Jake felt like being invited to the set of your favourite movie, such an insightful and wonderful experience.”

    To make his fourth album, Webb returned to the studio where he recorded and wrote his first material as Methyl Ethel. “A dear friend of mine recently passed away, the studio is his,” he explained. “I spent many years of experimentation with him, learning so much looking over his shoulder. It feels special to continue to share the space with his ghost, I’m still learning from him.”

    Methyl Ethel’s last album, Triage, came out in 2019. That same year, Donnelly released her debut full-length, Beware of the Dogs.

    Are You Haunted? Cover Artwork:

    Are You Haunted? Tracklist:

    1. Ghosting
    2. Proof
    3. Something to Worry About
    4. Neon Cheap
    5. Kids on Holiday
    6. One and Beat
    7. Matters
    8. Castigat Ridendo Mores
    9. In a Minute, Sublime

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading