Melody’s Echo Chamber Announces New Album ‘Emotional Eternal’, Shares New Song

    Melody’s Echo Chamber has returned with a new song called ‘Looking Backward’. It’s taken from her upcoming third album Emotional Eternal, which arrives on April 29 via Domino. The new single is accompanied by a video Melody Prochet made in collaboration with Unreal Engine specialist 3D artist Hyoyon Paik (Chlöe). Check it out and find the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    As with her previous album, 2018’s Bon Voyage, Emotional Eternal was initially recorded in the outskirts of Stockholm, with multi-instrumentalist Reine Fiske, a member of Swedish rock band Dungen who has worked with the likes of Travis Scott and Anna Järvinen, and Fredrik Swahn, the musician, producer and engineer best known for his work with Swedish indie rock outfit The Amazing.

    “I hope the record has that uplifting quality,” Melody said in a press statement. “I wanted to be more grounded and mindful through the process. I guided the sessions with simplicity—a contrast with the maximalism of Bon Voyage and the wilderness of my delusions. I made some big and impactful decisions and changes to my life. It took me to where it is peaceful, and I think the record reflects this. It’s more direct.”

    Speaking about the new track, Melody commented: “’Looking Backward’ is a vivid, nonchalant, poetic march to the Unknown. I wrote the lyrics on my way to Stockholm, in transit at the airport, there was a man creating light reflections with his watch and playing with light on the floors and walls. It felt like an act coming from a source of pure creativity, it made me happy to catch it and inspired me to write the song.”

    Hyoyon Paik added of the video: “It was a truly joyful experience to tap into Melody’s world and use my CGI skill to visualize it. This piece demonstrates how artists can utilize digital avatars and CGI to deliver a grander and more immersive narrative in this exciting time, where the digital world and reality are integrated more than ever before.”

    Emotional Eternal Cover Artwork:

    Emotional Eternal Tracklist:

    1. Emotional Eternal
    2. Looking Backward
    3. Pyramids in the Clouds
    4. The Hypnotist
    5. Personal Message
    6. Where the Water Clears the Illusion
    7. A Slow Dawning of Peace
    8. Alma_The Voyage

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading