Toro y Moi Details New Album ‘Mahal’, Unveils New Singles

    Toro y Moi has announced a new album called Mahal. Chaz Bear’s seventh LP under the moniker and first for Dead Oceans, the LP is due out on April 29. It includes the new tracks ‘Postman’ and ‘Magazine’, both of which arrive with accompanying visuals. Below, check out the video for ‘Postman’, directed by Kid. Studio, and ‘Magazine’, directed by Arlington Lowell, and scroll down for the album artwork and tracklist.

    Mahal was mostly completed last year in Bear’s Oakland studio and includes collaborations with Sofie Royer, Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s Ruban Neilson, Neon Indian’s Alan Palomo, and the Mattson 2. “I wanted to make a record that featured more musicians on it than any other record of mine,” Bear explained in a press release. “To have them live on that record feels grounded, bringing a communal perspective to the table.”

    Mahal Cover Artwork: 

    Mahal Tracklist: 

    1. The Medium [feat. Unknown Mortal Orchestra]
    2. Goes By So Fast
    3. Magazine [feat. Salami Rose Joe Louis]
    4. Postman
    5. The Loop
    6. Last Year
    7. Mississippi
    8. Clarity [feat. Sofie
    9. Foreplay
    10. Déjà Vu
    11. Way Too Hot
    12. Millennium [feat. The Mattson 2]
    13. Days in Love

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading