Mall Girl Announce Debut Album ‘Superstar’, Release New Single

    Norwegian art-pop outfit Mall Girl have announced their debut album, Superstar, set for release on April 29 via Jansen Records. Today, the band have shared their new single ‘For Hannah’, which follows the previously shared ‘Bachtap’ and ‘Bubbly Cool Drink’. Check it out below.

    Elaborating on the new single, Mall Girl said in a statement: “All the feelings and thoughts you hide from the other person in a relationship, where do they end up and what will they lead to? As life keeps on moving forward towards an uncertain future, you sit and wonder what your desires are in the midst of all the uncertainty. These questions are the story told in this song: “Who will catch me if I fall? Will you run if things get too tough? What are your true, inner desires?” And until you get your answers you’ll sit down, observe the world around you and try to find as much comfort in the future unfolding before your eyes.”

    Members Iver Armand Tandsether, Hannah Veslemøy Narvesen, Eskild Myrvoll, and Bethany Forseth-Reichberg recorded the LP at Studio Paradiso in Oslo with longtime collaborator Marcus Forsgren. “Because of COVID regulations and the four of us living in two different cities, we changed the way we worked with the songs quite radically in the months leading up to the studio recording,” Narvesen explained. “We’ve always been very oriented towards the live performance of the songs, including when we compose them together in our rehearsal space. That way of working has led to some challenges when recording, as you end up listening to the songs in a different manner and might figure out you should have done everything differently.”

    Superstar Cover Artwork:

    Superstar Tracklist:

    1. Pink NASA
    2. Lilies Dew
    3. Bubbly Cool Drink
    4. Feel Like Crying
    5. Dance Alone
    5. Close My Eyes
    6. Bachtap
    7. Poolside Person
    8. Think About It
    9. For Hannah
    10. Machine Gun Mystery
    11. Slush
    12. See My Soul
    13. You And I

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading