Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce New Album ‘Unlimited Love’, Release New Song ‘Black Summer’

    Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced a new album: Unlimited Love is out April 1 via Warner. It marks their first album with guitarist John Frusciante back in the lineup since 2006 and their first with producer Rick Rubin since 2011. The record is led by the new single ‘Black Summer’, which arrives ahead of the band’s upcoming global stadium tour with the Strokes, Haim, A$AP Rocky, St. Vincent, and more, set to kick off in June 2022. Check it out below.

    “Our only goal is to get lost in the music,” the band said of their new album in a press release. “We (John, Anthony, Chad and Flea) spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could. Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt.”

    They continued: “We yearn to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect, and bring people together. Each of the songs on our new album UNLIMITED LOVE, is a facet of us, reflecting our view of the universe. This is our life’s mission. We work, focus, and prepare, so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean has gifted us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy it. ROCK OUT MOTHERFUCKERS!”

    Frusciante added: “When we got together to start writing material, we began by playing old songs by people like Johnny “Guitar” Watson, The Kinks, The New York Dolls, Richard Barrett and others. Ever so gradually, we started bringing in new ideas, and turning jams into songs, and after a couple of months the new stuff was all we were playing. The feeling of effortless fun we had when we were playing songs by other people, stayed with us the whole time we were writing. For me, this record represents our love for, and faith in each other.”

    Red Hot Chili Peppers’ previous album, The Getaway, came out in 2016. Produced by Danger Mouse, it marked their last with Josh Klinghoffer, who began playing with the band in 2007.

    Unlimited Love Cover Artwork:

    Unlimited Love Tracklist:

    1. Black Summer
    2. Here Ever After
    3. Aquatic Mouth Dance
    4. Not The One
    5. Poster Child
    6. The Great Apes
    7. It’s Only Natural
    8. She’s A Lover
    9. These Are The Ways
    10. Whatchu Thinkin’
    11. Bastards of Light
    12. White Braids & Pillow Chair
    13. One Way Traffic
    14. Veronica
    15. Let ‘Em Cry
    16. The Heavy Wing
    17. Tangelo

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading