Cola (ex-Ought/US Girls) Announce Debut Album, Share New Song ‘So Excited’

    Cola – the new project of former Ought members Tim Darcy and Ben Stidworthy and US Girls/The Weather Station drummer Evan Cartwright – have announced their debut album. Deep in View is set to arrive on May 20 via Fire Talk Records. The announcement comes with the release of a new single, ‘So Excited’, which follows their debut track ‘Blank Curtain’. Check it out and find the album’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    “We would talk about this track as the ‘capstone’ of the Cola record,” Darcy explained in a statement about ‘So Excited’. “It was that song that we would warm up with and get tight on since it was one of the first to really come together, plus it’s fun to play. There are Cola songs of mine that predate this one but this was the one I was working on when Ben told me he was going to come back from grad school and we talked about jamming together. It clicked when we played it out with Evan and from there we decided to work on songs for a new project.”

    “The first song Tim showed me, I had this special bassline which I had been playing at Ought soundchecks and was saving for the right moment,” Stidworthy added. “It fit perfectly in the first phrase of the chorus and felt like it was a sign.”

    Deep in View Cover Artwork:

    Deep in View Tracklist:

    1. Blank Curtain
    2. So Excited
    3. At Pace
    4. Met Resistance
    5. Degree
    6. Water Table
    7. Gossamer
    8. Mint
    9. Fulton Park
    10. Landers

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading